05 Jul 2022

St Dominics clinch Clancy Cup semi-final spot following hard fought draw

St Dominics clinch Clancy Cup semi-final spot following hard fought draw

The St Dominic's team pose for a photo earlier this month. (Pic: St Dominic's FC Facebook)

Clancy Cup Group B
St Dominics 2 Bay United 2

St Dominics became the first team to go through on goal difference in the 116 year history of the Dundalk and District League, winning Group B of the Clancy Cup with plus 2 goals against Bay United's plus one, after finishing with 4 points apiece following a 2-2 draw.

In a very competitive encounter, St Dominics got off to a perfect start, scoring in the first few minutes of the match, Dean Shield scoring in a crowded goalmouth from a corner kick. Midway through the first half a superb free kick from the touchline by Gustus Pupelis beat Dom's goalkeeper Jason McConville to level the match.

In the 42nd minute referee Brian Murphy awarded a penalty to the Saints, which Gavin Gaffney dispatched to give the Friary side a 2-1 half time lead. Five minutes into the second period Bay were awarded a penalty and Adam Larrigan made no mistake from the spot to level the match once more, beating stand-in keeper Dean Shield.

Both sides had their respective keepers performing at the top of their game to deny any more scores, indeed Oisin Norman made a series of spectacular saves for Bay, even after the Saints were reduced to 10 men following a sending off with 29 minutes of the game left.

The victory sends St Dominic's into the semifinals along with Rock Celtic, winner's of Group A. Rampart Celtic made sure of a semifinal spot with a 6-2 win over Glenmuir United, as they strive to win the cup for the third time in a row.

The first time the Clancy Cup was played in group format was in the 1996 season, Pegusus defeating Quay Celtic 1-0 in the final to win their first trophy thanks to Andrew Mullhollands second goal.

Top Scorers
Rory Kirk Rock Celtic                 4
Sean Gartland Rock Celtic          3
Calum Sheedy Thatch F.C.          3
Gavin Gaffney St.Dominics         3
Sean Bailey Rampart Celtic        3
James O'Conor Shamrock's F.C.  2
Peter Fisher Bellurgan United.    2
Martin Rooney Faughart Rovers  2
Gustas Pupelis Bay United.        2

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.