02 Oct 2022

Mullen Shield Q/F Round Up: Repeat of Junior Final fails to live up to the billing

James Butler Glen Emmets

James Butler, left, hit 3-7 for Glen Emmets as they accounted for John Mitchels. (Pic: Arthur Kinahan)


In a repeat of last year's Louth Junior Final, the result was the same with Glen Emmets beating John Mitchels in a disappointingly one-sided affair in Tullyallen.

James Butler, the player who missed that final through suspension will get all the plaudits with an eye-catching tally of 3-7 in the quarter final victory.

At half time the game was all but over as the hosts led 3-14 to 0-1, new addition Jake Gillespie found the net for Mitchels in the second half as Emmets ran rampant with four more goals.

GLEN EMMETS: Andrew Mooney; Charlie Walsh, Sam Kenny, Tom Grimes; Evan English, Cathal Maguire, Alex Fowler (0-1); Cian Talbot, Keith Boylan; Jamie Farnan, James Butler (3-7), David Bracken; Ronan Grufferty (0-1), Alex Carolan (1-4), Keelan O’Neill (1-3). Subs: James Byrne (0-1), Liam McCarthy, Damien Grimes (2-0), Conor Kelly, Conor Byrne, Lewis Fordham, Robbie Byrne.  

JOHN MITCHELS: Michael Quinn; Aaron Kane, Anto Coyle, Shane Crossan; Gareth Finnegan, Liam Devitt, Mikey Nulty; John Devitt, Emmet Farrell; Jamie Durnin (0-1), Cathal Corrigan, Barry Cousins; Robert Coyle, Jake Gillespie (1-1), Cathal Bradley. Subs: D Durnin, A Mackin, R Carroll.



Na Piarsaigh maintained their hopes of successfully defending their Kevin Mullen Shield title when they proved too strong for Annaghminnon Rovers at the Rock Road on Sunday afternoon.

Goals proved crucial in this game and it was the Dundalk men who came out on top as Fionn Tipping, Thomas Muckian, Mark O’Hare and Conall Shields all raised the green flag.

Rovers competed well in the first half and had four points on the board, but crucially Na Piarsaigh got the first goal of the game through O’Hare to give the hosts a 1-5 to 0-4 advantage at the break.

Na Piarsaigh then upped the pace after the restart and made sure of a deserved victory as they added three goals to their tally.

NA PIARSAIGH: D Connolly; S McGuinness, S Ruddy, F Mulholland; F Tipping (1-0), S Sheilds (1-0), R Murphy; M O'Hare, J Garvey (0-1); M Larkin (0-1), M Begley (0-3), G Smyth (0-2); T Muckian (1-2), D Boyle (0-2), A McCartney. Subs: S Arrowsmith and G Rice.

ANNAGHMINNON ROVERS: Sam Kennaugh; Fergal Markey, Paul McArdle, Tiarnan O’Brien; Paudi Russell, Ronan Byrne (0-1), Dylan Mulholland; Rory Phelan (0-2), Mark Hoey (0-1); Richie Ashfield, James O’Connor (0-2), Colin Campbell; Dwayne Markey (0-2), Aidan Lee, Tony Brennan. Subs: Ronan Gaughran, Eddie Finnegan, David Loughran.



Glyde Rangers secured a place in the semi-finals of the Kevin Mullen Shield thanks to a last gasp winner at Tallanstown on Sunday afternoon.  

Trevor O’Brien’s sixth point of the afternoon was enough to hold off a spirited challenge from the Wolfe Tones who will be disappointing to have lost out after an impressive second half revival.

The hosts were on top in the first half and landed a number of well-taken scores to build up a 0-9 to 0-3 lead at the break, with Jordan Duffy and Niall Smith on target for the Tones.

The visitors responded very well in the second half with Patrick Fanning impressing off the bench. Points from Stephen Murray Kierans, Niall Smith and Jordan Duffy narrowed the home sides advantage.

A goal from Smith was followed by an equalising point from Emmet Judge, but Glyde responded to the challenge by snatching victory in the dying seconds with O’Brien’s dramatic late score.

GLYDE RANGERS: David Brennan; Pauric Kearney, Jack McKeever, Peter Duffy; Tadgh Kellett, Conor Sheridan, Aaron Devlin; Ciaran Sheridan (0-1), Brian Duffy (0-1); Barry Brennan, Oisin Lynch (0-2), Lee Finnegan (0-2); Alan Kirk (0-1), Trevor O’Brien (0-6), Gerard Bourton. Subs: Cillian Gallagher for A Kirk, Dean Smyth for G Bourton.

WOLFE TONES: Stephen Murray Kierans; Darren Kiely, Graham Fanning, Rhys McGovern; Sean Flanagan, Dwayne Leavy, Tadgh Rock; Sam Kelly, Alan Fanning; Adam Gartland, Niall Smith (1-4), Jordan Duffy (0-2); Cailean Gallagher Floody, Ivor Kelly, Lorcan Mallon. Subs: Aaron Byrne for T Rock, Paddy Fanning for A Fanning, Caolan McKenna for L Mallon, Emmet Judge (0-1) for R McGovern.



Lannleire were comprehensive Kevin Mullen Shield winners in Courtbane over dogged home side Naomh Malachi on Sunday morning.

Moving up the gears in the early stages, Dunleer opened up a healthy 1-10 to 0-2 lead at half time with Bob Murphy moving well at full forward with the first of his two goals.

Padraig Moley found the net for the hosts and they were much more competitive in the second period. Murphy added to his tally and substitute Lawrence Carroll Jones found the net off the bench for Glen O’Reilly’s side as they advanced to the semi-finals.

LANNLEIRE: Liam Callan; Darragh Goodman, Paul McGeough, Thomas Doyle; Kyle Van Rijhn, Jason Torris, Aaron McArdle; Ian Mulroy, Caoimhin Maher; Lorcan Callaghan, Colin Murphy (0-7), Ciaran Dunne; Killian Gregory (0-3), Bob Murphy (2-2), Paul Doyle (0-1). Subs: Mark Dunne, Lawrence Carroll Jones (1-0), Jimmy Kearney, Jonny Carroll Jones.

NAOMH MALACHI: Ronan McElroy; Stephen Burns, Conor Begley, Aaron Gogarty; Donal Mulholland (0-1), David Begley, Padraig Moley (1-0); Paudie McLoughlin, Kevin McShane; Donal Begley, Conaill Stafford, Paul Gogarty; Collie Rooney (0-4), Brendan McShane (0-1), Mark Meegan. Subs: Cian Fee, Michael McLoughlin.

To continue reading this article,
please subscribe and support local journalism!

Subscribing will allow you access to all of our premium content and archived articles.


To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.