26 Jun 2022

Cars will have to slow down outside Louth schools as new speed bye-laws introduced

Northern drivers not heeding speed limits

Speed limits outside some schools have been reduced to 50km/h

New bye-laws have been introduced around Louth to introduce special speed limits around specific schools around the county.

The County of Louth Road Traffic Special Periodic Speed Limit Bye-Laws came into effect on Tuesday, August 24th, with road users now having to reduce speed on specific roads outside 15 schools in Louth.

Of the 15 named schools, 13 will have the speed limit set at 50km per hour outside the school.

These include Stonetown NS, Monksland NS, Rathcorr NS, Bellurgan NS, Scoil Dairbhre, Mullaghbouy NS, Sheelagh NS, St Colmcilles NS, Harestown NS, Boher NS, Faughart NS, St Finians NS and Bush Post-primary.

The two other schools are St Josephs NS, which has a speed limit of 30km per hour and Monastery NS in Ardee, with a speed limit of 40km per hour.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.