BREAKING | Louth GAA appoint new County Board chairman

Louth GAA Convention

BREAKING | Louth GAA appoint new County Board chairman

Peter Fitzpatrick is the new chairman of Louth GAA. (Pic: Arthur Kinahan)

Peter Fitzpatrick has been elected chairman of Louth County Board at tonight's Convention in Darver.

The Clan na Gael man romped to victory, taking 83 of the 129 votes cast, surpassing the quota by 17. 

His rivals, Declan Byrne and Fra Kieran, both ran, but received 24 and 22 votes respectively.

Fitzpatrick succeeds Des Halpenny, who has stood down as chairman following five years in the post.

Hunterstown Rovers' Seán McClean (76 votes) unseated Paddy McMahon (52 votes) as vice-chairman.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.