Tully Bookmakers Challenge Cup

Mullen performs heroics in shootout as superb Bay qualify for Tully Cup semi-final

Kentstown Rovers 4 (8) Bay FC 4 (9)

Sports Reporter


Sports Reporter



Mullen performs heroics in shootout as superb Bay qualify for Tully Cup semi-final

Bay FC 'keeper Kevin Mullen performed heroics in today's Tully Cup quarter-final against Kentstown Rovers. (Pic: Ciarán Culligan)

Tully Cup quarter-final

Kentstown Rovers 4-4 Bay FC

Bay win 9-8 on penalties

Bay FC continued their giant-killing Tully Cup run on Sunday afternoon by seeing off Division One Kentstown Rovers, 9-8 on penalties, to qualify for the competition’s last four for the first time.

The match had ended 2-2 after normal time before Bay took a two-goal lead in extra-time, only to be pegged back late in the contest with the outcome to be decided by spot-kicks.

There, ‘keeper Kevin Mullen was the hero with no less than three penalty saves, allowing Paddy Connor to fire home the match-winning effort and end a difficult week for the club in a remarkable way.

Pre-match, a minute’s silence was observed for Bay’s late treasurer Frank Gaughran, who sadly passed away last week.

The match itself saw Bay get off to a poor start, conceding despite Stephen McGuinness’ appearing to hack the ball off the line.

Midway through the first half, Kentstown were reduced to 10 men and this allowed the Dundalk side a foothold as they levelled before the interval through Alan McCartney.

Connor supplied Shaun O’Connor to put Damien Bellew’s men ahead during the second half, before Kentstown forced extra-time from the penalty spot.

The visitors held the initiative over the extra periods, taking the lead through Alfonso Crespo before the turnaround and when Mark Larkin doubled their advantage, they seemed set for victory.

But Kentstown came with an incredible finish, scoring twice in injury-time to force the lottery shootout, where Bay - and Mullen - distinguished themselves.

Bay FC: Kevin Mullen; Brian McCloskey, Angelo Stanley, Pairic Browne, Stephen McGuinness; Shaun O’Connor, Anto McLaughlin, Paddy Connor, Kevin Scollon; Alan McCartney, Joe Woods

Subs: Gavin Donnelly, Alfonso Crespo, Quadri Olowo, Mark Larkin, Mario Kolak, Johnny Winters