Mark Browne wins Sunday's Stableford at Dundalk Golf Club

Dundalk Golf Club

Sports Reporter


Sports Reporter


Mark Browne wins Sunday's Stableford at Dundalk Golf Club

Dundalk Golf Club.

Mark Browne was a clear winner of Sunday’s Singles Stableford competition which was played over 14 Holes with seven clubs.

The 22 handicapper shot a blemish-free round of 34pts and had two points to spare over John Farrell (22) who edged out Seamus Bailey (11) for second place on countback.

Peter Rogers (1), Pat Curran (13) and Conor Byrne (22) took the category prizes with Rogers also recording the day’s best gross score, a two-under 30pts.

Browne was steadiness personified in playing to his handicap, not dropping a shot, and taking his three-point par chances when they arose.

His first par arrived on the second and he then had back to back three point pars on the fifth and sixth before two more back to back pars came on the 10th and 11th. The par three 13th yielded his sixth par of the day and all he needed on the 18th was a two point bogey five to finish two points ahead of the field.

Clem Walshe has been appointed as Gents Team Chairman for the coming year and the following have been appointed as managers of the club’s various teams: Senior Cup & Barton Shield: Alan McCabe & John Conlon. Junior Cup: Peter Rogers. Jimmy Bruen: Liam Mernagh & Sean Hession. Pierce Purcell: Seamus Bailey & Billy Cairns. All-Ireland Fourball: Frank Byrne & Larry Soraghan. Barton Cup: Carl Stewart & Alan McDermott. Provincial Towns: Gerry Murray & Trevor Giff. Newsam Cup: Barry Grennan & Pat Davis. Jimmy Carroll: Tom Clarke. Carlingford Cup: Brendan Cleary & Peter Boyle. Walker Cup: Sean Ward. Kennedy Trophy:  Michael Byrne. SOUSA: Jim Gollogley & Dermot Duffy. Senior Mixed: Alan Hurley & Criona O’Reilly. North Leinster Mixed: Mickey Coburn & Katherine Conneally Sloan. Husband & Wife: Paul O’Callaghan & Elaine Ward.

Sunday, January 28 – 14 Holes Singles Stableford – Overall: Mark Browne (22) 34pts, John Farrell (22) 32/21pts, Seamus Bailey (11) 32pts. Category 1 (0-12): Peter Rogers (1) 31pts. Category 2 (13-16): Pat Curran (13) 29pts. Category 3 (17-28): Conor Byrne (22) 30pts. Best Gross: Peter Rogers 30pts.