14 Aug 2022

St. Fechin's defeat Pearse Óg in Senior Hurling Championship

St. Fechin's 3-13 Pearse Óg 1-12

St. Fechin's defeat Pearse Óg in Senior Hurling Championship

Seaghan Connolly of St. Fechin's gets the better of Pearse Óg's Shane Kellegher during their SHC meeting in Darver. (Pic: Arthur Kinahan)

Senior Hurling Championship

St. Fechin's 3-13 Pearse Óg 1-12

This St Fechin's outfit have been on the road for two years plus now and they put all that know-how to good use in Darver on Thursday night.

Both sides went into the game without a victory, so the match was effectively a quarter-final knockout.

And it was the reigning champions, St. Fechin's, who extended their run with a polished performance.

Their victory was mainly down to Paddy Lynch and his ability to find the posts from dead balls. The punishing accuracy of the wing-forward wore Pearse Óg's indiscpline down.

Five-points to no reply at the tail end of the opening-half positioned Cathal Ryan’s men in the ascendancy and when John Crosbie pounced for goal on the referee’s half time whistle it was a lead they would not relinquish.

The Dundalk team responded after the break, coming out strongly with Gerard Smyth's penalty goal coming almost straight from the throw-in.

Vincent Hynes goaled on the counter for St. Fechin's to nudge them further clear, but, with a strong wind at their back, Ógs took over with four minors in a row.

You could feel St. Fechin's becoming nervous, though substitute Brian Stephenson sealed the game with a goal at the end of a fine passing move.

The major signalled the end of the road for Pearse Óg in this year's Paddy Kelly race, however, the Hoops remain in the hunt for a third title in a row.

St. Fechin's: Stephen Hackett; Caoimhín Seery, Brian Devlin, Colin Griffin, Wayne Treacy (0-1), Cathal Ryan, Óisín Byrne; Seaghan Conneely (0-2), Darren McDonnell; Paddy Lynch (0-9, five frees and three '65s), Donal Ryan, Vincent Hynes (1-0); David Stephenson, John Crosbie (1-0), Niall Devlin

Subs: Michael Ryan (0-1) for Stephenson (43), Cormac McAuley for Seery (43), Ian Connor for Griffin (51), Brian Stephenson (1-0) for Crosbie (52), Liam Ryan for McDonnell (60)

Pearse Óg: Barry Myles; Adam Traynor, Brian Minogue, Richie Scanlon; Noel Callan, Shane Callan (0-2), Gerard Smyth (1-5, goal pen and four frees); Mike Lyons (0-1), Gary O’Brien (0-1, free); Dean Walsh (0-2), Andy McCrave, Padraig McCarthy; Aidan Callan, Brian McCabe (0-1), Gerry Hoey

Subs: John Callan for Scanlon (39), Pat McGauley for Hoey (39), Mark Egan for Traynor (45)

Referee: Gerry Keoghan

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.