04 Oct 2022

Dundalk's Caolan Rafferty selected on Leinster squad for Interprovincial matches

Q&A | Dundalk Golf Club's Caolan Rafferty plans to turn pro as his career maintains its upward trajectory

Dundalk Golf Club's Caolan Rafferty

The teams for the Golf Ireland Men’s and Women’s Interprovincial Matches have been selected with Caolan Rafferty (Dundalk) and Kevin McIntyre (Ardee) among the nine names selected by Leinster manager Michael Delany.  

A strong cohort of players will make the trip to Shannon Golf Club with AIG Irish Men’s Close Champion Peter O’Keeffe named on the Munster men’s team and Beth Coulter, fresh from her runner up finish at The R&A Girls’ Amateur Championship, heading the Ulster women’s team.

Other players of note include South of Ireland Champion TJ Ford, representing Connacht, and recent Irish Girls’ Internationals Emma Fleming, Katie Poots, Corrina Griffin, Rebekah Gardner and Caitlin Shippam.

Shannon Golf Club will host the round-robin style event from August 25 – 27.

Ciara Casey (Hermitage)
Ellen O'Gorman (Milltown)
Leah Temple Lang (Elm Park)
Rachael McDonnell (Elm Park)
Kate Lanigan (Hermitage)
Emma Fleming (Elm Park)
Lauren Murray (Woodbrook)
Captain: Una Marsden (Tullamore)
Manager: Orla Dunphy (Kilkenny)

Marc Boucher (Carton House)
Paul Coughlan (Castleknock)
Keith Egan (Carton House)
Alan Fahy (Dun Laoghaire)
Hugh Foley (Royal Dublin)
Robert Moran (Castle)
Caolan Rafferty (Dundalk)
Jake Whelan (Grange)
Captain: Kevin McIntyre (Ardee)
Manager: Michael Delany (Laytown & Bettystown)

Shannon Burke (Ballinrobe)
Kate Dillon (Oughterard)
Emma Gilmore (Westmanstown)
Annabel Greham (Ballina)
Hilary Hall (Enniscrone)
Claire Staunton (Ballinasloe)
Sinéad Lohan (Portumna)
Captain: Regina Power (Ballinasloe)
Manager: Marie Carr (Athenry)

TJ Ford (Co. Sligo)
Allan Hill (Athenry)
David Kitt (Athenry)
Joe Lyons (Galway)
Jack McDonnell (Forrest Little)
Sam Murphy (Portumna)
Liam Nolan (Galway)
Simon Walker (Roscommon)
Captain: Damien Coyne (Tuam)
Manager: Cathal McConn (Roscommon)

Clodagh Coughlan (Douglas)
Corrina Griffin (Killarney)
Lauren Kelly (Ballykisteen)
Caitlin Shippam (Ballykisteen)
Rachel Thompson (Cork)
Aileen Walsh (Lahinch)
Paula Walsh (Cork)
Captain: Orla Barry (Limerick)
Manager: Sinead Enright (Macroom)

Paul Buckley (Cork)
Cathal Butler (Kinsale)
Jack Egan (Muskerry)
Darragh Flynn (Carton House)
Eanna Griffin (Waterford)
Richard Knightly (Royal Dublin)
Peter O'Keeffe (Douglas)
Darren O'Sullivan (Tralee)
Captain: Michael Coote (Tralee)
Manager: George Mellerick (Fota Island)

Louise Coffey (Malone)
Beth Coulter (Kirkistown Castle)
Kate Dwyer (Rossmore)
Rebekah Gardner (Clandeboye)
Molly O'Hara (Clandeboye)
Katie Poots (Knock)
Jessica Ross (Clandeboye)
Captain: Paula Metcalfe (Malone)
Manager: Fiona Delargy (Cushendall)

James Hewitt (Tandragee)
Jordan Hood (Galgorm Castle)
Gareth Lappin (Belvoir Park)
Aaron Marshall (Lisburn)
Kyle McCarron (North West)
Matthew McClean (Malone)
Shane McDermott (Slieve Russell)
Michael Reid (Galgorm Castle)
Captain: Gerry McAleese (Royal Portrush)
Manager: John McKinstry (Cairndhu)

To continue reading this article,
please subscribe and support local journalism!

Subscribing will allow you access to all of our premium content and archived articles.


To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.