Teams and scorers from the weekend's Louth GAA Division One games

Division One

Teams and scorers from the weekend's Louth GAA Division One games

Sean O'Mahonys' Chris O'Neill and Barry Flanagan of O'Raghallaigh's during Saturday night's Division One clash on the Point Road. (Pic: Arthur Kinahan)




In a game where the 24 points were evenly shared, it was second half goals from David Reid, Adrian Reid and Niall McKeown that saw the game swing in Mattock’s favour.

The opening half proved to be an even affair as the teams traded points, while Liam Shevlin’s goal for the Dreadnots was cancelled out by a brilliant effort from Brian Corcoran, resulting in Mattock taking a 1-5 to 1-4 lead at the break.

Dreadnots: Ciarán Cunningham; Brian Gargan, Dermot Campbell, Barry Faulkner; Aaron Scullion, Cian McEvoy, Anthony Williams; James Califf, Páraic Smith; Darragh Shevlin (0-1), Peter Kirwan (0-2), Liam Shevlin (1-3); Jay Hughes (0-1), Carl Monaghan, Nathan Sutherland (0-3)

Subs: Conor Clark (0-1), Anthony Lynch (0-1)

Mattock Rangers: Mike Englishby; Alan Caraher, Shane Maguire, James Caraher; Terry Donegan, Niall McKeown (1-0), Dáire Englishby; Daniel Bannon, Adrian Reid (1-0); Ben McKenna (0-2), David Reid (1-7), Ryan Leneghan (0-1); Shane Hickey (0-1), Brian Corcoran (1-1), Cathal Fleming

Subs: JP Watters, Ronan Kilbane, Hugh Donnelly


The Drogheda men then took a significant hold on the game when Dáire Nally hit the net for the first time on 19 minutes to help his team lead by 1-10 to 0-3 at the break.

Blues haven’t had the best of seasons so far, but they certainly have enjoyed their trips to the Cooley Peninsula where they have recorded their only wins of the campaign thus far.

Nally’s second goal 12 minutes into the second half put the seal on his team’s win.

St. Patrick’s: Martin McEneaney; Cormac Barry, Dessie Finnegan, Jason Woods (0-1); Daniel Rice, Rory Duffy, Jack Murphy; Darren O’Hanlon, Paddy Keenan (0-1); Aidan McCann, Daniel O’Connor (0-3), Evan White; Tadhg O’Connor, Cathal Grogan (0-5), Gavin Gregory (0-1)

Subs: Daragh Lafferty, Adam Finnegan, Stephen Toner, Ryan Duffy

Newtown Blues: Ronan Browne; Niall Costello, Thomas Costello, Alan Connor; Jamie Kelly, Johnny Connolly, Ian Connor; Johnny McDonnell, John Kermode (0-1); Dáire Nally (2-0), Hugh McGinn (0-2); Robert Carr (0-5); Colm Judge, Conor Moore (0-2), Cormac McQuillan (0-1)

Subs: Keith Lynch, Ross Nally (0-4), Jamie Doherty


Terry Kelly landed a late point to give Sean O’Mahony’s a dramatic victory in an entertaining battle with the O’Raghallaigh’s at the Point Road on Saturday night.

Stephen Kilcoyne and Stephen Fisher led the way in attack for the hosts as they led for most of the first half.
However, the O’Ragh’s struck a late goal to take a 1-6 to 0-8 lead into the break.

The teams traded points for most of the second half and it looked as if they would have to settle for a share of the spoils when Kilcoyne’s point to edge his team ahead was cancelled out by O’Raghallaigh’s.
However, Kelly had the final say.

Sean O’Mahony’s: Paudie McConville; Robbie Galligan, Kian McEvoy, Colin Finan; Kyle Carroll (0-1), Chris O’Neill, Danny O’Brien (0-1); Keith McLaughlin, Conor Martin; Terry Kelly (0-2), Ben McLaughlin, Conor Finnegan (0-1); Stephen Kilcoyne (0-6), Johnny Connolly, Stephen Fisher (0-4)

Subs: Seán Mathews, Niall McLaughlin


Three first half goals saw Naomh Máirtín condemn Geraldines to their first league defeat of the season, in Monasterboice on Friday night.

JP Rooney and Bryan McQuillan were the major scorers as the Jocks led 3-7 to seven at the break.
Dara Hamill kept the Gers in the game, finishing with 0-10, but not even a Glen Trainor goal was enough to deny Máirtín’s victory.

Naomh Máirtín: Jamie Mulholland; Paul Berrill, Mick Fanning, Shane Campbell; Eoin Wright, Conor Morgan, Mark Whelan; Val Leddy (0-1), Gavan Mooney; Pádraig McDonagh, Bryan McQuillan (1-1), Stephen Campbell (0-2); Conor Whelan (0-3), JP Rooney (2-4), Wayne Campbell (0-2)

Subs: Jack Murphy (0-1), Graeme McQuillan, Francis McCullough (0-1), Conor Healy

Geraldines: Seán McEneaney; Ryan Trainor, Tiarnan Hand, Paul Clarke; Jack Traynor, Gerard Hoey, Fearghal McDonald (0-1); Matthew Corcoran (0-2), Stephen Reidy; Josh Arrowsmith (0-2), Conor Rafferty, Gareth Neacy; James Corrigan, Dara Hamill (0-10), Glen Trainor (1-1)

Subs: Ben Mooney, Conor McGowan

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.