Naomh Moninne retain Louth U14 Féile title after final win over St. Fechin's

Naomh Moninne 2-10 St. Fechin's 2-3

Maurice Murphy


Maurice Murphy


Naomh Moninne retain Louth U14 Féile title after final win over St. Fechin's

Naomh Moninne captain Conor Whyte receives the Féile trophy from Coiste Iomana secretary Maurice Murphy after last week's final against St. Fechin's in Darver.

U14 Féile final

Naomh Moninne 2-10 St. Fechin's 2-3

Naomh Moninne retained their Louth U14 Féile na nGael title with this good victory over St. Fechin’s in the final played in Darver last Tuesday night.

The Dundalk boys had the better of the opening exchanges and thanks to an early goal scored from close range by Martin Tkacz they led, 1-2 to 0-0, after 10 minutes.

Moninne were denied a second goal following a terrific save from ’keeper Seán Keane on 24 minutes, but in the time that remained to the break, they added another brace of points from midfielder Sam Phelan to lead 1-6 to 0-2 at half-time.

The Dundalk side all but made certain of the victory with the opening three points on the resumption, from Phelan and Walsh (2).

Daragh Stone did net a goal for  Fechin’s on 43 minutes, but this was cancelled out by one from Daniel O’Shaughnessy courtesy of a mistake by the custodian.

To their credit, Fechin’s fought gamely to the final whistle and were rewarded with a second goal from Stone.

Afterwards, the cup was presented to Moninne captain Conor Whyte by the Coiste Iomana secretary Maurice Murphy.

Both clubs will now go on to represent Louth at the Féile hosted by Cork/Kerry from June 7-9.

Naomh Moninne: Seamus Reid; Matthew Dignan Maloney, Conor Whyte, Conor Caraher; Craig McDowell, Tadhg Dowdall, Oisín Curran; Daniel O’Shaughnessy (1-0), Sam Phelan (0-6); Aaron Heaney, Cian Walsh (0-4), Tom Elvin; Martin Tkacz (1-0), James Byrne, James Dignan Maloney

Subs: Luke Haughey, Shane McGuinness Smith, Mark Byrne, Christopher Carron

St. Fechin’s: Seán Keane (0-1); Danny Reilly, Eoin Doyle, Andrew O Reilly; Shane Reilly; Ciarán McGinnity, Colm Hackett; Donal Quinn, James McGlew; Daragh Stone (2-0), Mahon Ronan, Paddy Price (0-2); Morgan Reilly, Cathal Mulholland, Finn McGeown

Referee: Kevin Brady (Pearse Óg)