Louth MHC final

Fechin's leave it late to dethrone Moninne in Louth minor hurling final

Naomh Moninne 1-12 St. Fechin's 3-10

Sports Reporter


Sports Reporter



Fechin's leave it late to dethrone Moninne in Louth minor hurling final

St. Fechin’s captain Cathal Doherty receives the MHC trophy from Coiste Iomana Co. Lú secretary Maurice Murphy following Saturday’s final win over Naomh Moninne in Stabannon

Louth MHC final

Naomh Moninne 1-12 St. Fechin’s 3-10

Two late scores proved crucial as St. Fechin’s got the better of holders Naomh Moninne to capture the Louth MHC in an exciting final played in Stabannon on Saturday afternoon.

Ryan Walsh top-scored for the winners and his first half goal, along with five points, sent Fechin’s into the lead, 1-6 to six points at half-time, despite the best efforts of Darren Geoghegan for the Black and Amber.

Geoghegan fired Moninne ahead early in the second period, striking a sideline cut past Josh Murtagh having opened the half with a point.

Fechin’s struck for their second goal on 39 minutes through Eoghan Ryan, but Moninne continued to compete and were level, 2-9 to 1-12, with under two minutes to play.

Walsh put Fechin’s in front from a free, before Ryan grabbed his second major to seal victory.

Naomh Moninne: Conor Murphy; Craig Callan, Eoin Murphy, Luke Murray; Seán Magill, Pádraig Fallon (0-1), Patrick Hickey; Darren Geoghegan (1-8, 0-6 frees), Alan Carr; Brendan Prendergast, Ciarán McGlynn (0-1), Kyle Rafferty; Stephen Yore (0-1), Ultan McEnaney (0-1), Jack McCaughey

St. Fechin’s: Josh Murtagh; David Lally, Cathal Doherty, Neil Boylan; Jack Murray, Daniel Morgan, Ciarán Brennan; Paul McEvoy (0-1), Alan Connor; Seán Kerrisk (0-1), Thomas McCreesh, Jay Hughes; Ryan Walsh (1-8, 0-6 frees), Stephen Birth, Eoghan Ryan (2-0)

Subs: Zac Lennon, Cian Fitzpatrick, Eoin Hackett, Mickey Redmond

Referee: John Emo (Cavan)