Tully Bookmakers Challenge Cup

Newfoundwell come from behind to end Rock's spirited Tully Cup charge at Sandy Lane

Rock Celtic 1 Newfoundwell 2

Caoimhín Reilly


Caoimhín Reilly



Newfoundwell come from behind to end Rock's spirited Tully Cup charge at Sandy Lane

Rock Celtic manager Paudie Gollogley (right) and assistant Robert Cosgrove. (Pic: Ciarán Culligan)

Tully Bookmakers Challenge Cup Round Two

Rock Celtic 1 Newfoundwell 2

Premier Division Newfoundwell maintained their extraordinary unbeaten run at Sandy Lane on Friday night, but they were made battle all the way by Rock Celtic.

Daniel Kerr had the Rock in front at half-time, however, two goals from the Drogheda-side in the opening 15-minutes of the second-half saw them take their place in the third round, while the hosts were left reeling following the dismissals of Conor Rafferty and Paul Gore with the game firmly in the melting pot.

On debut, Kerr put Paudie Gollogley's men ahead in some style. Having picked up the ball on halfway, he danced by two defenders and drove to the net with the aid of a slight deflection.

As the first-half wore on, Newfoundwell exerted more offensive pressure, though a mixture of Rock's well-organised rear-guard and 'keeper Shane McCoy - whose handling was exemplary - ensured the Division One promotion-chasers got to the interval ahead. 

And had Newfoundwell's custodian not been on his game, Rock would have been even further in front with Aidan Curtin twice being denied in spectacular fashion.

The match changed in a short space early in the second-half as Newfoundwell found a leveller before the visitors were awarded a spot-kick - which they duly converted - after McCoy's attempts at clearing the ball saw him foul an opposition attacker.

Rock's luck wasn't to improve as both Rafferty and Gore were ushered off for second bookable offences. However, Gollogley can take much from his side's performance as they bid to continue their quest for an immediate return to the Premier Division

Rock Celtic: Shane McCoy; Liam McDonnell, Shane O'Callaghan, Conor Rafferty, Odhran Duffy; Daniel Kerr, Paul Gore, Paddy Reilly, Aidan Curtin; Des McKeown, David Ward

Sub: Kizito Ekwueme