Leinster Colleges Championship

Dundalk Colleges suffer agonising exit from Leinster 'A' Championship

Leslie Toal's men were defeated by Offaly Schools on Saturday

Caoimhín Reilly


Caoimhín Reilly



Dundalk Colleges suffer agonising exit Leinster 'A' Championship

Having lost the recent Lennon Cup semi-final with the CBS, Peter McStravick felt more anguish as part of the Dundalk Colleges team on Saturday. (Pic: Ciarán Culligan)

Leinster 'A' Colleges Championship

Dundalk Colleges 0-12 Offaly Schools 2-8

Dundalk Colleges exited the Leinster 'A' Championship at DkIT on Saturday afternoon.

With the fixture having been confirmed at very short notice, the task was always going to be a difficult one for Leslie Toal's men and it became an even greater hurdle when the visitors scored a goal within minutes of the throw-in.

To their credit, Dundalk battled back and brought the deficit to the minimum on occasions in both halves, however, an equaliser was never forthcoming.

Adam Finnegan - Dundalk's top-performer and scorer with five-points - was unlucky to see a first-half penalty come out off the inside of the post, while the impressive James Prendergast also hit the woodwork in the second-half.

Dundalk 'keeper Shane Barron kept his side in with a chance by saving a second-half penalty, while substitute Gerry Curran raised two white flags. Unfortunately, though, they were unable to reel Offaly in.

Dundalk Colleges: Shane Barron (CBS & St. Joseph's); Tiernan Weldon (Marist & Clan na Gael), Danny Corcoran (DLS & Geraldines), Conor Garland (DLS & St. Mochta's); Gabriel Bell (DLS & St. Joseph's), Matthew Fee (Dundalk Grammar & Geraldines), Ronan Greene (DLS & Geraldines); Pádraig Fallon (CBS & Dundalk Gaels), Jack Reid (Dundalk Grammar & Geraldines); Ciarán McMahon (DLS & St. Mochta's), Adam Finnegan (DLS & St. Patrick's), Peter McStravick (CBS & Dundalk Young Irelands); Ultan McEnaney (CBS & Kilkerley Emmets), James Prendergast (CBS & Dundalk Young Irelands), Feidhelm Joyce (Dundalk Grammar & Geraldines)

Subs: Cain Bromley (DLS & Dundalk Gaels) for Garland, Gerry Curran (DLS & Clan na Gael) for Fallon, Conor McGailey (DLS & Dowdallshill) for Reid, Cian O'Donoghue (Marist & Dundalk Young Irelands) for McStravick), Craig Lennon (DLS & St. Mochta's) for McEnaney