O'Neill Shield

Larkin's double helps Bay in to O'Neill Shield semis

Bay FC 4 Kells Celtic 1

Sports Reporter


Sports Reporter



Larkin's double helps Bay in to O'Neill Shield semis

Bay FC's Robbie Rafferty and Kevin Mullen. (Pic: Ciarán Culligan)

O'Neill Shield Quarter-Final

Bay FC 4 Kells Celtic 1

Bay FC booked their place in the semi-finals of the O'Neill Shield for the third season running in Muirhevnamor on Friday night.

Damien Bellew's side were in terrific form, playing some magnificent football despite the freezing conditions.

It only took the Division Three promotion chasers two-minutes to get off the mark as Mark Larkin registered for the second week running. A flowing move, which saw Quadri Olowu and Jimmy Byrne combine, resulted in Larkin calmly dispatching to the corner of the net.

Olowu and Byrne both tested the Kells 'keeper before Larkin doubled his side's account with a terrific finish, bending a 25-yard free-kick around the wall and to the net.

Leading 2-0 at the interval, Bay maintained their advantage against a strong start to the second-half from the visitors before killing the game with a third goal. Larkin was the provider on this occasion, crossing for Olowu to move himself in to double figures for the season with a rifled finish to the roof of the net. 

Paddy Connor added a fourth as Bay continued their relentless march to the last four. He picked up possession on the 18-yard line and curled a fine effort to the bottom corner. It was a goal his performance undoubtedly deserved.

The visitors were reduced to 10-men before the close, though they returned to Meath with a goal consolation as striker Brian Hanlon finished from close range.

Bay will meet Park Celtic Summerhill in the semi-final early in the new year as their bid for silverware on all fronts goes on.

Bay FC: Kevin Mullen, Robbie Rafferty, Brian McCloskey, Marion Kolak, Johnny Winters, Gavin Toner, Alfonso Crespo, Jimmy Byrne, Paddy Connor, Quadri Olowu, Mark Larkin

Subs: Kevin Scollon, Marcel Ekwueme, Brendan Nash, Aaron Kelly, Robbie Murphy