Duffy's late strike denies Cork title... for now

Dundalk FC 1 Bray Wanderers 0

Duffy's late strike denies Cork title... for now

Dundalk's Brian Gartland and Hugh Douglas of Bray Wanderers grapple for possession at Oriel Park. (Pic: Ciarán Culligan)

SSE Airtricity League Premier Division

Dundalk FC 1-0 Bray Wanderers

Michael Duffy's ninth goal for Dundalk ensured Cork City's twelve-year wait on the Premier Division title goes on as The Lilywhites secured their 21st league victory of the campaign.

A draw at Oriel Park would have handed The Rebels the title courtesy of their scoreless draw at Dalymount Park, however, with Bray down a man following Ryan Brennan's second-half sending-off, a goal into the 'town end' goal felt inevitable despite The Lilywhites having spurned a host of glorious opportunities beforehand.

Racing onto a ball from Jamie McGrath, Duffy controlled before drilling through the legs of Bray 'keeper Peter Cherrie as Stephen Kenny's men finally made their superiority count.

The first-half was a disappointing affair with a well-struck David McMillan shot - which Cherrie saved well - and Jake O'Connor's chested effort against the butt of the post the best action.

Dundalk lifted their play in the second-half, though Bray remained competitive, even after Brennan's 60th minute sending-off. Still reeling from a challenge by Shane Grimes which saw him require treatment, Brennan needlessly picked up a booking for a late foul on Gary Rogers before referee Seán Grant upgraded the punishment following an exchange of words.

However, it looked as if Harry Kenny's side were going to earn a share of the spoils, until Duffy slipped through with three-minutes to play to ensure Dundalk's status as champions for at least another 72 hours.

Dundalk FC: Gary Rogers; Seán Gannon, Brian Gartland, Seán Hoare, Shane Grimes; Chris Shields, Jake O'Connor (Jack O'Keefe 68); Michael Duffy, Jamie McGrath, Carlton Ubaezuono (Robbie Benson 56); David McMillan

Subs not used: Gabriel Sava (gk), Eric Whelan, Cian Flynn, Deane Watters, James Woods

Booked: Grimes (58), Hoare (86)

Bray Wanderers: Peter Cherrie; Keith Buckley, Hugh Douglas, Conor Kenna, Karl Moore; Ryan Brennan, John Sullivan, Darragh Noone, Jason Marks; Gary McCabe, Aaron Greene

Subs not used: Lee Steacy (gk), Luke Rossiter, Derek Foran, Calvin Rogers, Ger Pender, Mark Salmon, Anto Flood

Booked: Kenna (58), Brennan (60 & 60), Buckley (82)

Red Card: Brennan (60)

Referee: Seán Grant (Wexford)

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.