26 Jun 2022

Sinn Fein select team to contest Louth local elections

Sinn Fein select team to contest Louth local elections

Sinn Fein select team to contest Louth local elections

Sinn Fein have selected their team to contest the 2019 local elections here in Louth which will take place on the 29th of May 2019.

In Mid-Louth Pearse McGeough has been selected to run again, a running mate has not yet been chosen for Mid- Louth.  

In Dundalk South, Current councillors Anne Campbell, Tomas Sharkey and Ruairí ó Murchú have all been selected to run again next year.

In Dundalk Carlingford, Councillors Edel Corrigan and Antóin Watters have been selected to run again, while Eugene Garvey who will be competing for a seat for the first time in 2019. In 2014, Sinn Fein lost out on a third seat in Dundalk / Carlingford and are hoping that Garvey will be able to secure the third seat in 2019.

Speaking at the selection, Garvey said “I am humbled and honoured to have been put forward and subsequently selected by Halpenny Worthington Watters Cumann and look forward to joining the Sinn Féin team on Louth County Council.” Local TD’s Imelda Munster and Gerry Adams were also present at the selection event.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.