Louth infrastructure committee for new ground will keep things confidential

The organising committee to manage the proposals for a new look county ground was set up on Wednesday night in Darver.

The organising committee to manage the proposals for a new look county ground was set up on Wednesday night in Darver.

In a historic night for the County Board - they held their first County Board meeting in the new Darver Centre of Excellence - it was announced that a small organising committee would be set up.

The reason for a small steering group is keep the proposals about a redeveloped ground in Drogheda or a new ground at DkIT confidential and under wraps.

Announcing news on the Infrastructure Committee, Chairman Padraic O'Connor said: "This is a sensitive stations for us this year. We want to keep it as tight as possible."

The committee will consist of Padraic O'Connor, Declan Byrne, Des Halpenny, Aidan Berrill and Dermot Agnew.

O'Connor added that plans are in place at the moment for both grounds, with delegates set to decide on one or the other in 2011.

"DkIT and Drogheda are both options and we are in negotiations about going forward but we want to keep this as tight as possible and under wraps until we bring it to you, the delegates for decision. All these talks until then will be confidential, hence the small committee."

At the Louth County Board Convention, held four days prior to the meeting, O'Connor told delegates that plans for a new stadium at DkIT were in the hands of Croke Park at the moment, but it would take serious financial backing for it to succeed, from past players, supporters, small businesses, leaders in the business sector and more. He also said that the O'Raghallaigh's were behind the County Board's plans if they were to redevelop the Gaelic Grounds in Drogheda if delegates voted for this venture.

At the meeting, the County Board also honoured two servants of Louth GAA, who are both at the opposite end of the spectrum.

John Byrne, long time coaching officer and former Treasurer for the board was honoured with an award, handed out by Chairman O'Connor on the night. John retired from coaching earlier this year.

Accepting the award, John said: "I did what I did because I loved it. I loved working with people on the pitch and I only hope the lads on the pitch get the glory they deserve in the next few years."

O'Connor also handed a special award out, on behalf of Louth GAA to Paddy Keenan, for his services to Louth GAA throughout the year.

On the night a number of committees were formed. The management committee will consist of the County Board and two club representatives; Fra Kierans from Clan na Gael and Tony King, St Mochta's.

Pat Kieran and Anthony Murphy were eliminated in the voting process.

The CCC Chairman will once again be Declan Byrne, with Helena Kirwan serving as secretary. The club representatives for each grade will be Liam Oliver (St Patrick's) for Senior, Aidan Gorham, (St Joseph's) for Intermediate, Joey Callan (Annaghminnon) for Junior and Maurice Murphy (Naomh Moninne) for Hurling.

Joey Callan beat Tony Melia, 25 votes to 18 to secure his place on the committee.

The Referee's Administration Committee was also selected and it will consist of; Padraic O'Connor, Des Halpenny, Declan Byrne, Peter Bannon, Paddy Matthews and Liam O'Neill, who will be secretary. Liam met the five year mark this year so had to step down as an administrator.

Finally, the finance committee for the year will be Aidan Berrill, Barry Cullen and Liam McGailey.