Division Two

Team and scorers from the weekend's Louth GAA Division Two league games

Division Two

Sports Reporter


Sports Reporter



Team and scorers from the weekend's Louth GAA Division Two league games

Trevor O'Brien was on song for Glyde Rangers in their surprise win over St. Fechin's. (Pic: Arthur Kinahan)



Trevor O’Brien scored five points as Glyde Rangers picked up their first win of the campaign, condemning Fechin’s to their maiden defeat.

Glyde’s hopes were enhanced by the fact that Fechin’s were missing their Louth contingent and at the end of the first half they had a 0-8 to 0-5 lead.

Glyde Rangers: David Brennan; Gerard Farrell, Conor McCullough, Fiachre Sheridan; Barry Brennan, Paul Noone, Mark O’Brien; Ciaráin Sheridan (0-1), Cein Sheridan; Conor Sheridan, Brian Duffy (0-4), Dion Conlon (0-2); Trevor O’Brien (0-5), Barry Sharkey (0-1), Alan Brennan

Sub: JP Boyle


Despite leading 2-6 to 1-5 at the break, Kilkerley Emmets suffered defeat away to Young Irelands on Saturday evening.

Shane Lennon and Ewan McEnteggart found the net for Emmets, while Dermot Mone hit Irelands’ three-pointer.
Emmets began the second half well, but Derek Maguire’s goal completed the turnaround as Irelands got back to winning ways.

Young Irelands: Shane O’Connell; Stephen Bellew, Ciarán Murray, Peter McCourt; Derek Maguire (1-2), Kevin Keelan, Peter Nixon; Seán McLoughlin, Derek Rogers; Dermot Mone (1-1), Peter McStravick (0-3), Aidan Sheekey (0-1); Cian O’Donoghue (0-4), Mark Savage, Jordan O’Donoghue (0-2)

Subs: Jamie Browne, Caolan McCabe

Kilkerley Emmets: Rian Hand; James Bellew, Adam Shields, Cormac Bellew; Seán Hand (0-1), Cathal Bellew, Kieran Murtagh; Conor Quigley (0-2), Ciarán Bellew (0-2); Ciarán McGlynn (0-1), Shaun McElroy, Killian Kampes; Ciarán Clarke, Shane Lennon (1-4), Ewan McEnteggart (1-0)

Subs: Micheal McGeown, Ultan McEnaney, Neil Mulholland

ST. KEVIN’S 1-12 ST. JOSEPH’S 0-12

St. Kevin’s collected their second win of the season, at home to St. Joseph’s on Saturday evening.

The hosts led 0-8 to six at the break and the match was tight throughout, before Patrick Clarke converted the crucial score, a goal, with seven minutes to play.

St. Kevin’s: Danny Crosbie; Emmet Callan, Finbarr lynch, Patrick Duff; Darren McMullen, Seánie Crosbie (0-1), Dylan Maher; Lee Crosbie, Andrew Campbell; TJ Doheny (0-2), Cian Callan (0-7), Shane Meade; Barry Byrne, Patrick Clarke (1-1), James Kieran (0-1)

St. Joseph’s: Shane Barron; David Kieran, Ben Mulligan, Stefan Potts; Adam O’Connor, Killian Staunton, Conor Neary (0-1); Thomas Smyth, Alan McKenna (0-2); Jack Mulligan, Craig Doherty (0-1), Oisin McGuinness; Alan Quigley (0-3) Conal Smyth (0-3), Derek Mulligan (0-2)

Sub: Peter Brennan


Naomh Fionnbarra moved six points clear of rock bottom Oliver Plunkett’s by beating the Mell men in Drogheda.

Plunkett’s had 1-3 to no-score on the board and were two ahead at the interval, 1-6 to 1-4, with Pádraic Murphy scoring the Togher men’s goal.

Rory Taaffe and Bryan Sharkey traded majors, but the Barrs hit eight of the last 10 points to emerge victorious.

Oliver Plunkett’s: Luke Haggins; Barry Reynolds, Cillian Matthews, Seán Rice; Josh Cormican, Garry Keogh, Davy Lambe; Robbie Brodigan, Ben McKenna; Niall Murtagh (1-2), Cian Brady (0-2), Craig O’Connor; Kevin Keogh, Rory Taaffe (1-1), Trevor Walsh (0-4)

Naomh Fionnbarra: Matthew O’Reilly; Hugh McGrane, Kieran Lenehan, Kalem Regan; Bryan Sharkey (1-0), Chris McGlynn (0-1), Martin O’Neill; Darren McConnon, Adam Hanratty; Ciarán Markey (0-1), Conor Osborne (0-1), Máirtín Murphy; Thomas McCreesh (0-2), Pádraic Murphy (1-1), Bernard Osborne (0-6)

Subs: Niall Woods, Colm Kierans, Brendan Simms


O’Connell’s battled back from one-point behind at half- time to overcome Hunters- town in Ardee on Saturday.

Cian Doyle bagged O’Connells’ first half major, but Glen Matthews and Pádraig Matthews points earned Rovers the lead.
But Seán Cairns’ goal altered the tide in O’Connells’ favour and the Bellingham men went on to record their sixth league win from seven played.

Hunterstown Rovers: Niall Carrie; David Finn, Richie Taaffe, Martin Lennon; Keith Brennan, Patrick Taaffe, Paddy Mooney; Tony McKenna (0-1), Ryan Ward; Brendan Lennon (0-2), Mark Brennan (0-2), Mark Ward (0-1); Pádraig Matthews (0-3), Glen Matthews (0-6), Paul Carrie (0-2)

Sub: Euan Woodlock

O’Connell’s: Stuart Reynolds; Emmet Byrne, Conor Byrne, Gary Connolly; Stuart Osbourne (0-1), Paul McKeever, Keith Ryan; Seán Cairns (1-0), Ciarán O’Brien; Dean Stanfield, Niall Conlon (0-1), Seán Meehan; Robert Quigley (0-8), Cian Doyle (1-1), Jackie Agnew (0-2)

Sub: Salem Rifaie