Jackson's two goals help Ardee St. Mary's to major win away to Newtown Blues

Newtown Blues 1-12 Ardee St. Mary's 3-9

Jackson's two goals help Ardee St. Mary's to major win away to Newtown Blues

Liam Jackson bagged two goals for Ardee St. Mary's in their win over Newtown Blues at the weekend. (Pic: Arthur Kinahan)

Division One

Newtown Blues 1-12 Ardee St. Mary's 3-9

Newtown Blues saw their early season struggles continue at Newfoundwell on Friday night as they lost out to St. Mary’s.

The Ardee men turned in another high-scoring display and made sure of victory thanks to two second half goals from Liam Jackson.

Blues got a much-needed boost after just five minutes when Conor Moore got in for the first goal of the game. However, they were unable to build on that score and the visitors gradually got a foothold in the game.

Mary’s have been in excellent form in front of the posts of late and that trend continued in the third quarter as Karl Faulkner found the net to help his team lead 1-6 to 1-5 at the break.

The Drogheda men got back on terms early in the second half but the game turned back in favour of the Mary’s when Jackson scored his first goal from the penalty spot on 35 minutes.

Three points from Ciarán Downey helped the Blues get their noses back in front but once again Ardee side found their range and found themselves back in the lead after Evan Malone, RJ Callaghan, Cian Commins and Ciarán Keenan were on target.

The game was still very much alive entering the closing stages but Jackson found the net for what proved to be the decisive score and ensure Blues’ wait for a league victory goes on.

Newtown Blues: Danny Rothwell; Niall Costello, Fergal Donaghue, Alan Connor; Thomas Costello, Emmet Carolan, Alan Connor; Cormac Reynolds, John Kermode; Dáire Nally, Ciarán Downey (0-6), Conor Moore (1-0); Colm Judge, Jamie Kelly (0-5), Ross Nally (0-1)

Subs: Keith Lynch, Ronan Levins

Ardee St. Mary’s: Alan McGauley; Donal McKenny, Barry McCoy, Conor Keenan; Niall Eccles, Karl Faulkner (1-0), Eimhin Keenan (0-1); Robert Leavy, RJ Callaghan; Jamie Rooney, Darren Clarke (0-3), Liam Jackson (2-0); Ciarán Keenan (0-1), Ronan Carroll (0-3), Cian Commins (0-1)

Subs: Tom Jackson, Evan Malone, Philip Trainor, Conor Gillespie

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.