Division One

Mulroy on fire as Máirtín's pull away from Sean O'Mahony's on Point Road

Sean O'Mahony's 0-9 Naomh Máirtín 1-16

Sports Reporter


Sports Reporter



Five-star Naomh Máirtín record 19-point win over O'Connell's in Louth SFC quarter-final

Naomh Máirtín's Sam Mulroy. (Pic: Ciarán Culligan)

Division One

Sean O'Mahony's 0-9 Naomh Máirtín 1-16

Sam Mulroy struck 1-7 to help Naomh Máirtín record a ten-point win over Sean O’Mahony’s at the Point Road on Sunday afternoon.

The victory made it a successful week for the Monasterboice men who got their campaign off to a winning start when they defeated St. Patrick’s on Tuesday evening, and their confidence was evident as they finished to claim the points.

O’Mahony’s were also boosted by an opening day victory and although they gave a good account of themselves in the opening period, the loss of a number of regulars through injury took its toll as they faded in the second half.

There wasn’t much to choose between the teams in the opening period, but Máirtín’s did have the edge with Mulroy, Stephen Campbell and Conor Whelan among those on target. The home side kept themselves in contention with Stephen Kilcoyne and Ben McLaughlin replying at the other end.

However, it was a different story in the second half as the visitors took control early on and some well-taken scores, along with the only goal from Mulroy saw them run out comfortable winners.

Sean O’Mahony’s: Paudie McConville; Kian McEvoy, Chris O’Neill, Robbie Galligan; Ciarán Finan, Colin Finan, Caolan McCann; Conor Finnegan (0-1), Conor Martin; Terry Kelly (0-1), Ben McLaughlin (0-4), Seán Mathews (0-1); Stephen Kilcoyne (0-2), Conor Crawley, Johnny Connolly

Subs: Conor McGailey, Lee Byrne, Stephen Fisher, Benny Traynor

Naomh Máirtín: Jamie Mulholland; Eoin Wright, Mick Fanning, Alan Downey; Evan Whelan, Eoghan Callaghan, John Clutterbuck (0-1); Gavan Mooney, Val Leddy; Stephen Campbell (0-3), Conor Morgan, Wayne Campbell; Conor Whelan (0-4), Sam Mulroy (1-7), Bryan McQuillan

Subs: Paul Berrill, Mark Whelan, Pádraig McDonagh, Francis McCullough (0-1), JP Rooney