Paddy Sheelan Cup

Lynch's goal crucial as Dreadnots come from behind against Cooley to book Sheelan Cup final berth

Dreadnots 1-11 Cooley Kickhams 1-9

Sports Reporter


Sports Reporter


Lynch's goal crucial as Dreadnots come from behind against Cooley to book Sheelan Cup final berth

Dreadnots' Peter Kirwan has a Paddy Sheelan Cup final to look forward to. (Pic: Arthur Kinahan)

Paddy Sheelan Cup SF

Dreadnots 1-11 Cooley Kickhams 1-9

Dreadnots clinched a place in the Paddy Sheelan Cup final thanks to a narrow victory over Cooley Kickhams in Clogherhead on Friday night.

Cooley proved they were in determined mood to make it through to the decider as they battled throughout and began the second half a point to the good. However, the home side moved up a gear in the second period and a goal from Anthony Lynch proved decisive.

The teams traded points for much of the opening half with Peter Kirwan and Jay Hughes continuing their good scoring run of late, while scores from Brian White and Emmet Rogan kept the visitors very much in the game.

It was Cooley who grabbed the only goal of the first half from Michael Rafferty at the end of the opening quarter and that was enough to send his team in leading 1-4 to 0-6 at half-time.

The Clogherhead side raised their game at the start of the second period and regained the lead before Lynch pounced to find the back of the net just as the game moved into the final quarter.

Despite Cooley’s best efforts and points from White and Gerry Malone, they were never able to bridge that gap and the Dreadnots ran out worthy winners as they close in on a first piece of silverware for the season.

Dreadnots: Ciarán Cunningham; Tony Óg Smith, David O’Brien, Derek Shevlin; Cian McEvoy, Pádraig Rath, Aaron Scullion; Darragh Shevlin, Páraic Smith (0-2); Pat Lynch, Peter Kirwan (0-3), Liam Shevlin (0-1); Jay Hughes (0-4), Anthony Lynch (1-1), Nathan Sutherland

Subs: Fergal McGuigan, Shane Lynch

Cooley Kickhams: Neil Gallagher; David Reilly, Keith White, Dylan McGarrity; James O’Reilly, Conor McGuinness, Dean McGreehan; Patrick Hanlon, Peter Thornton; Emmet Rogan (0-2), James Loughran, Aoghain McGuinness; Brian White (0-5), Fearghal Malone (0-1), Michael Rafferty (1-0)

Subs: Michael Carron, Gerry Malone (0-1), Eoin McDaid, Conor Kenny, Luke White, Patrick Sheelan