Mighty Moninne complete the clean sweep with league title victory


Mighty Moninne complete the clean sweep with league title victory

Coiste Iomana Chairman Ken Tobin presenting the Louth U14 Hurling League Cup to the Naomh Moninne captain Fionn Cumiskey after the league final played in Darver last Wednesday night




The young U14 hurlers of Naomh Moninne completed a clean sweep of all the Louth U14 hurling titles when capturing the League title with this hard earned victory over the St Kevin’s/Mattock/Glen Emmets combination in the final played in Darver last Wednesday night.

The Dundalk boys had the better of the early exchanges and thanks to a 12th minute goal from Seamus Reid they led at that stage by 1-2 to no score. The combination side responded with three successive points from Robert Mathews (2) and Cameron Maher.

A second goal from midfielder Fionn Cumiskey on the stroke of half time had Moninne leading by 2-2 to 0-3 at the break.

A pointed free from Sam Phelan extended the black and amber outfits lead on the resumption before their opponents got right back into it with a good goal from Cameron Maher.

Further scores from the pair of Phelan and Cumiskey which included a second third goal on 38 minutes had Moninne comfortably in front by 3-9 to 1-3.

To their credit the combination side fought gamely to the end and were rewarded with late goals from Maher and Mathews but it was Moninne that had done enough to hold out for the victory.

Afterwards the cup from presented to the Naomh Moninne captain Fionn Cumiskey by the Coiste Iomana Chairman Ken Tobin.

NAOMH MONINNE: Conor Whyte; Conor Caraher, Luke Conlon, Tadhg Dowdall; Craig McDowell, Aaron McGuinness Smith, Diarmuid McEnaney; Fionn Cumiskey (2-3), Ciaran Walsh (0-1); Jason McKeown, Sam Phelan (0-5), Daniel O Shaughnessy; Seamus Reid (1-0), Eoin O Hagan, Aaron Heaney. Subs: James Byrne, Mathew Maloney, James Maloney, Luke Haughey, Aaron Donnelly, Christopher Carron.

ST KEVIN’S/ MATTOCK/GLEN EMMETS: Joe Durnin; Finn Carter, Aaron Smyth, Brendan Christifides; Ciaran King, Keelan Maher, Jacob Finlay; Cameron Maher (2-1), Niall Gregory; Robert Mathews (1-3), James Byrne, Jack Mullen; Shane Curtis, Ronan McCreesh, Shawn Tobin. Subs: Conor Byrne, Paidi McCabe.

REFEREE: Jim O Rourke (Monaghan).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.