Anchor Tours SFC relegation play-off

Gers head for last chance saloon as Mary's secure senior status with relegation play-off win

Ardee, St. Mary's 0-20 Geraldines 1-7

Sports Reporter


Sports Reporter


Gers head for last chance saloon as Mary's secure senior status with relegation play-off win

Ardee, St. Marys' Dáire McConnon and Tiarnan Hand of Geraldines. (Pic: Arthur Kinahan)

Anchor Tours SFC relegation play-off

Ardee, St. Mary's 0-20 Geraldines 1-7

St. Mary’s recorded a comfortable victory over Geraldines at The Grove on Sunday afternoon to retain their Senior Championship status.

The Ardee men set the tone from the opening whistle as points from Darren Clarke, Conor Gillespie and Brendan Matthews had them in charge before Gareth Neacy opened the Gers’ account.

St. Mary’s continued to dominate and Ronan Carroll, Mark Fay and Dáire McConnon pointed to increase the gap to 0-9 to 0-2 after 15 minutes. Although Jim McEneaney and Conor Rafferty responded for the Haggardstown side, there was no let up from the Mary’s and by the time the half-time whistle sounded they were leading, 0-14 to 0-5.

The Gers never looked capable of mounting a comeback in the second period despite the fact that Jack Traynor scored the only goal of the game, as Seán Barry’s team sealed the victory with late scores from Clarke and McConnon.

Geraldines have one more chance to secure their senior status when they take on Kilkerley Emmets in the relegation play-off final.

Ardee, St. Mary’s: Alan McGauley; Conor Keenan, John Bingham, Donal McKenny; Brendan Matthews (0-1), Karl Faulkner, Éimhín Keenan; Robbie Leavy, RJ Callaghan; Dáire McConnon (0-4), Darren Clarke (0-6), Kian Moran; Conor Gillespie (0-3), Ronan Carroll (0-4), Mark Fay (0-2)

Subs: Paudy Clarke for Callaghan, Cian Commins for Gillespie, Rory Cousins for Fay, Jamie Rooney for McConnon, Barry McCoy for Moran

Geraldines: Seán McEneaney; Tiarnan Hand, Daniel Corcoran, Jack Traynor (1-0); James Corrigan, James Craven (0-1), Gareth Neacy (0-2); Patrick Hoey, Stephen Reidy; Killian Dempsey, Jim McEneaney (0-2), Conall Hoey; Glen Trainor, Conor Rafferty (0-1), Matthew Corcoran (0-1)

Subs: Paul Clarke for Hoey, Seán Thornton for Corrigan, Paddy Geoghegan for Trainor

Referee: Stephen Murphy (Naomh Máirtín)