HURLING Kehoe Cup Round One

Difficult day at the office for Louth hurlers


Staff Reporter


Staff Reporter

Difficult day at the office for Louth hurlers

Louth’s Darren O’Hanrahan and Ross Donohue of Maynooth University. Picture: Ciaran Culligan

New Louth hurling managers Philip O’Brien and Ken McKenna could not have asked for a more difficult introduction to senior inter county hurling when they came up against an NUI Maynooth team that included Kilkenny All Ireland final half back Padraig Walsh in round one of the Kehoe Cup in Darver on Sunday afternoon.

The college outfit’s starting 15 included five Kilkenny and four Tipperary born hurlers and they had the better of the first half exchanges, leading by 2-7 to 1-5 on the run in to half time with the Louth goal scored by St Fechins’ Paul Matthews who was making his senior debut for the Wee County.

Maynooth grabbed a third goal from their impressive full forward , Galway’s Brian Molloy, to lead by 3-10 to 1-6 at half-time.  

The home started the second half in the fashion the management would have asked for when top scorer Paddy Lynch netted his side’s second goal from close range. However, despite hitting the crossbar they failed to add to their tally over the next 20 minutes.

During this time Maynooth picked off a further 1-6 with Molloy accounting for all but one point, with 1-4 coming from placed balls to leave his side now in front by 4-16 to 2-6.

To their credit, Louth maintained their effort and were rewarded with a good Paddy McCormack goal set up by Paul Matthews and successive points for Shane Callan and Liam Dwan.

Maynooth complete the scoring with a pointed free from midfielder Ciaran Breen and they will now be favourites to make the final when they play Longford next Sunday.

Louth, for their part, will travel to Longford in the group’s concluding match away on Sunday January 29.

LOUTH: Shane Nolan; Colin Griffin, Shane Callan (0-1), Johnny Carter; Stephen Kettle, Mick Lyons, Conor Kerrigan; Andrew McCrave, Paddy McCormack (1-0); Darren O’Hanrahan, Liam Dwan (0-2), Paul Matthews (1-0); Seaghan Conneely, Gerard Smyth, Paddy Lynch (1-5). Subs: David Stephenson for C Kerrigan, Gavin Kerrigan for G Smyth, Conor Matthews for J Carter, Ricky McKeown for C Griffin, Dean Walsh for S Conneely, P aul Cha lloner for S Kettle.