Struggling Woodview stun Ardee

Ardee Celtic 1-2 Woodview Celtic

Brendan Sheils


Brendan Sheils

Struggling Woodview stun Ardee

Woodview Celtic's Shane English

Bottom of the pile Woodview faced NEFL Division One challengers Ardee Celtic on Sunday afternoon in what was expected to be another comfortable win for the mid Louth men.

The game started evenly with both sides enjoying their fair share of possession but the first real chance of the game came on 10 minutes after a good break from the home side resulted in Woodview’s left-back Daniel English sprinting back to clear the ball off the goalline.

A few moments later Woodview took the game by the scruff of the neck and raced in front. Excellent build-up play allowed Dean Browne to be played in on the left-wing and he directed an inch perfect ball into the back post where Robbie Mackin rose up between two defenders to score a bullet header.

Woodview lost English after 20 minutes but despite this they continued to press and it was then no surprise when they doubled their lead on 25 minutes.

More patient build-up play, this time on the opposite side, resulted in man of the match Niall Mackin - who led by example up front - finishing off a superb cross.

With the deficit two at half-time, Ardee turned it up a notch in the second-half and began to pile the pressure on Woodview. They pulled a goal back on 65 minutes and with Woodview’s only sub having already been used, fatigue became a factor for the Dundalk side.

Despite this, their defence, including Shane English and Shane Taaffe, in the centre withheld several Ardee attacks and never allowed their goal to come under any more serious pressure.

The score line remained 2-1, inflicting a first defeat of the season on Ardee, making this crucial win for their relegation battle all the more impressive for Woodview considering they were on a lengthy winless run themselves.

WOODVIEW CELTIC: Padraig Gorham, Shea McArdle, Shane English, Shane Taaffe, Daniel English (Jason Myles), Kyle Carroll, Darren Meehan, Robbie Mackin, Dean Browne, Stefan Zlokapa, Niall Mackin.