McArdle honoured at Darts awards night

News Strapline

McArdle honoured at Darts awards night

The Dundalk and District Darts League awards night took place on Saturday night in the Avenue Inn.

It was a busy night with over 30 different awards to be handed out.

The winners were as follows:

Premier Division: Courtney’s A; Premier Cup: Avenue Eagles; Premier Doubles: Mickey McMahon and Jonny Lawlor; Premier Singles: John Donnelly.

Division One: Lumpers; Division One Cup: Lumpers; Division One Doubles: Chris Lennon and Niall McQuillan; Division One Singles: Gary Loughran.

Division Two: Fergusons; Division Two Cup: Windmill Warrior’s; Division Two Doubles: Trevor Doyle and Sean Doyle; Division Two Singles: Dessie McGuinness.

Division Three: Stag’s Blue; Division Three cup: Barleycorn; Division Three Doubles: Aaron Rice and Connor Coburn; Division Three Singles: Gabriel McKenna. Andrew McAlester Open Shield: Courtney’s A.

The final award of the night was the Cathal Mulholland Hall of Fame award. Now in its third year, it is awarded to someone who has done a lot for the sport of darts in the local area.

This year the award was presented to Brian McArdle. Brian has been playing darts for over 30 years and was one of the founding members of the DDDL.

He has also traveled the country representing Louth.

Brian served on the committee of the DDDL for a number of years and was also chairman of the league for a time.

He is still heavily involved in darts around Dundalk and is currently captain of his team.