Pulsating U16 affair at Oriel

Shamrocks U16 4-4 Dromin United U16

Shamrocks U16 4-4 Dromin United U16

Oriel Park on Sunday afternoon was the venue for this superb game between the second and third place teams in the U16 Premier League.

Going one way and then the other, this game served up an eight goal thriller, the quality of some of the goals was outstanding with both sides refusing to accept defeat.

Early on it was the home team who threatened with the impressive Sherif Ayode but it was Dromin who took the lead with an Abi Sasde goal on nine minutes.

Gavin Gaffey went close for Shamrocks soon after but he deservdly equalised in the 21st minute, he collected Dean Browne’s pass in midfield and beat two Dromin defenders and cracked home a tremendous effort from outside the penalty area.

Shamrocks should have taken the lead before the break but Dromin ‘keeper Jamie Cummins produced a magnificent save from Anto Reilly’s effort.

Dromin took the lead on the stroke of half time when James Clerkin’s free kick flew into the top corner for another superb goal.

Dean Browne equalised for Shamrocks 11 minutes after the break with a goal very similar to the free kick scored by Clerkin for Dromin in the first half.

The home side then went ahead for the first time when Sherif Ayode’s stinging shot on the left side was blocked by Cummins but Gavin Gaffey hammered home the rebound from close range.

The sides were level again in the 23rd minute Michael Mackin’s free-kick was slotted home by the unmarked Ronan Sands.

Shamrocks attacked again and Sherif Ayode who was a constant threat was upended in the penalty area and he tucked home the resulting penalty kick to make it 4-3.

Dromin refused to go home empty handed and got their reward when Ronan Sands was fouled in the box and Abi Sasde scored from the spot to make it 4-4.

A draw was probably a fair result but credit must go to both sides for their huge effort and committment in this entertaining clash.

Shamrocks U16: Brian Gaffney, Glen Mackin, Robbie Mackin, Kian Carney, Dan Mulligan, Anton Reilly, Gavin Gaffey, Kaolin Ryan, Dean Browne, Sherif Ayode, Arda Yilidrim, Dean Gill, Ryan Murphy, James Byrne.

Dromin United U16: Jamie Cummins, Michael Mackin, Patrick Malin, Cian O’Brien, Carl Clark, Lochlan Cummins, Sean Halpenny, Abi Sasde, Jack Cotter, Tiernan Hoey, James Clerkin, Ronan Sands, Conor Dunne.

Referee: Colm McConville.