Seventh heaven in shoot-out for Glens

Seventh heaven in shoot-out for Glens
Glenmuir United staged a remarkable recovery to win this U11 semi-final on Saturday morning.

Glenmuir United staged a remarkable recovery to win this U11 semi-final on Saturday morning.

The Blues equalised in the last minute of normal time and in the last minute of extra time and in the penalty shoot out goalkeeper James O’Connell crashed home a dramatic winner from the spot to send the Hoey’s Lane outfit into the cup final.

Quay Celtic already had the U11 Premier Division title under their belt and were chasing the elusive double. And they were on top for most of this game but Glenmuir’s great escape in the final minutes spurred them on to a dramatic victory.

Despite the Saturday morning sunshine the strong wind played havoc with the match.

Thomas Daly and Adam Lennon went close for Quay and Niall O’Callaghan and Samuel Adekola went close for Glenmuir in the first half.

Daly broke the deadlock for Quay Celtic 13 minutes into the second half, his first effort was saved by Odhran Coburn who pushed the ball away but Daly headed home the rebound.

And he was unlucky not to score a second goal a minute later but he was denied by a superb save from Coburn.

The home pressed for an equaliser but with time running out Quay looked the more likely team to score again however in the last minute Glenmuir did equalise when Liam McStravick pounced on a loose ball and fired home to make it 1-1 to send the game into extra time.

Quay Celtic regained the lead in extra time when Dylan McKeown volleyed home Aaron Mackin’s corner kick but once again in the final minute Glenmuir equalised when Niall O’Callaghan blasted home a free kick from the edge of the box to send the game into a penalty shoot-out.

Both sides were superb from the penalty spot but at 6-6 the Glenmuir ‘keeper saved Quay’s seventh kick and he then blasted home Glenmuir’s seventh to send his team into the cup final.

GLENMUIR UNITED: James O’Connell, Cian Mulligan, Aaron Dunlop, Nathan Hearty, David Weir, Liam McStravick, Leon Browne, Niall O’Callaghan, Kyle Connolly, Niall Kilgallen, Andrew Cummins, Cormac Ryan, Tom Watters, Samuel Adekola.

QUAY CELTIC: Odhran Coburn, Dylan Cotter, Conor Smith, Eddie Maguire, Michael Staunton, Adam Lennon, Kyle Watters, Mark Agnew, Aaron Mackin, Dylan McKeown, Thomas Daly, Liam McGrath, Calum Quigley.