Bellurgan pip Blues to U12 title

Bellurgan Celtic showed trewmendous character and resolve to grind out a 2-0 win over Glenmuir Celtic and clinch the U12 First Division title with just a point to spare.

Bellurgan Celtic showed trewmendous character and resolve to grind out a 2-0 win over Glenmuir Celtic and clinch the U12 First Division title with just a point to spare.

This was another league title that was decided in the last game. Both Glenmuir and Bellurgan were unbeaten all season.

Long time leaders Glenmuir just needed a point to win the league and they dominated the first half and although it was 0-0 at the break the home side looked likely to succeed.

Niall Jackson and James McGuinness both went close for Glenmuir and Ciaran McMahon’s long range effort struck the Bellurgan crossbar in the first half as nearly all the play came from the home side. Cian McLoughlin did threaten for Bellurgan any time the ball was played up to him.

It was more of the same early in the second half, Niall Jackson looked certain to score in the 7th minute but his well struck effort was well saved by Bellurgan ‘keeper Stefan Breen.

Two minutes later Cian McLoughlin chased a long kick out from Breen and won a corner kick, the corner fell nicely into the path of Daniel McDonald who let fly with his left foot into the roof of the net to open the scoring.

Glenmuir responded and Ryan Coburns was unlucky to see his well struck shot scrape the top of the Bellurgan crossbar and Connor Keenan fired a shot that Stefan Breen did well to turn around the post.

Bellurgan livewire Cian McLoughlin then broke free on the left and cut into the box and slotted home to make it 0-2 to give his side a little breathing space in the final 10 minutes.

Glenmuir kept on fighting and battling and in the final moments Jack McKenna’s free kick was heading for the top corner but Bellugan defender Evan Cronin managed somehow to head the ball off the crossbar and away to safety.

In the end it was a brilliant win for Bellurgan but a gallant Glenmuir played their part in a very exciting encounter.

Glenmuir Celtic U12: David Hayes, James Doherty, Conor McEolan, Conor Dunne, Ciaran McMahon, James McGuinness, Conor Keenan, Jack McKenna, Ryan Coburn, Niall Jackson, Niall Cummins, Craig Lennon, Alex Miller, Jamie Farrell, Tristan McKeown, Tiernan Bradley, Oisin Callan, Jay O’Haydan.

Bellurgan Celtic U12: Stefan Breen, Jack Maguire, Gavin Gregory, Andrew Byrne, Evan Cronin, Owen O’Connor, Ryan Duffy, Alex O’Hagan, Cian McLoughlin, Shane McIvinny, Daniel McDonald, Paddy McCreesh, Hohn Rice, Mark Murphy, Aaron Lynch, Barry Dunne, Kieran Gartland, Fintan Sheelan.

Under-13 Fastfix Cup

Conal’s penalty makes the difference

Quay Olympic..............................2 New Generation..........................1

A terrific second half comeback by Quay Olympic saw them run out 2-1 winners over New Generation and advance to the next round of the Fastfix U13 cup in Clancy Park last Monday evening.

These two sides were well matched and Conal McGailey’s penalty kick 10 minutes from time was the difference at the final whistle.

New Generation did all the early running and deservedly took a first half lead with a Kizito Ekwueme goal on 16 minutes.

The Quay response was positive and Conal McGailey’s corner fell nicely to Liam Lawless but his shot went inches over the bar and a long clearance by Adam Molloy was headed on by Dylan Rooney into the path of Nick Furhman but New Generation ‘keeper Emmanuel Kwelele produced a brilliant save to deny Furhman.

The away side nearly doubled their lead just before the break with a terrific effort from Obum Onuorah but this time it was the Quay ‘keeper Adam Molloy that produced a brilliant one handed save to keep his team in the game.

The second half saw Quay up the tempo and they got their reward two minutes after the restart when Nick Frhman fired home from inside the penalty area.

Both sides had chances to win the game but the outcome was settled when Quay was awarded a penalty 10 minutes from time and Conal McGailey blasted home from the spot.

Quay Olympic U13: Adam Molloy, Liam Fitzpatrick, Cian Ruddy, Ronan Daly, Daithi Cooney, Liam Lawless, Dylan Rooney, Oisin McCabe, Nick Furhman, Conor Maguire, Shane Lennon, Danny McCague, Conal McGailey, Conor Maguire.

New Generation U13: Emmanuel Kwelele, Emmanuel Adelboyega, Tolani Animashaun, Kelechi Onu, Kizitp Ekwueme, Obum Onuorah, Jay Jay Onuorah, Michael Ekperuoh, David Ekperuoh, Mubarak Adewunmi, Dennis Adesanya, Abdul Abubakar.