Woodview run out winners despite Junior’s nine minute hat-trick

Thursday evening in Bellew Park saw a bottom of the U14 First Division humdinger between Setanta and Woodview.

Thursday evening in Bellew Park saw a bottom of the U14 First Division humdinger between Setanta and Woodview.

Woodview were 0-3 ahead after 21 minutes but Setanta staged a remarkable first-half comeback with Junior Shotayo recording probably the quickest hat-trick of the season when he scored three goals in nine minutes.

Dion Clohessy smashed a free-kick off the Woodview crossbar in the 6th minute with the first chance of the game and the same player had another glorious opportunity three minutes later from the penalty spot but he stroked the ball wide of the target. David Zigic went close for Woodview in the 14th minute but Adam Mostyn went one better a minute later when he fired home from close range.

Morgan Evans doubled the advantage for Woodview on 16 minutes from a free-kick and a defensive error led to a third goal for Woodview on 21 minutes when Darragh Jackson reacted quickly to slot home to leave it 0-3.

Setanta struck back with a well taken strike from Junior Shotayo in the 24th minute and four minutes later Ross McNally’s long kick out was headed on by Liam White and the young Shotayo somehow managed to steer the ball past Tiernan Farrell in the Woodview goals to make it 2-3.

The Setanta striker then completed his hat-trick in the 33rd minute when Kyle Cleary burst past several defenders and unselfishly passes the ball across the six-yard line for Shotayo to hammer home the equaliser 3-3.

Cleary threatened early in the second half for Setanta but that was as good as it got for the home side as Woodview went on to dominate the remainder of the game.

A long range effort by David Zigic flew over the head of Ross McNally to put Woodview 3-4 ahead.

David Farrell then scored goal number five from the penalty spot and Cain Bromley fired home a sixth goal as a rampant Woodview took full control of the game.

Setanta: Ross McNally, Leah Watters, David Meade, Denis Obatan, Peter Lambe Fagan, Kyle Cleary, Shane O’Brien, Liam White, Dion Clohessy, Junior Shotayo, Rebecca Fagan Lambe, Brendan Wahand.

Woodview: Tiernan Farrell, Morgan Evans, David Zigic, Thomas Lindsay, Darragh Jackson, Craig McKeown, Adam Mostyn, Sean Cooney, Cain Bromley, David Farrell, Andrew Clarke.