Ardee's Tomas McCabe overall winner of local bike league


Ardee's Tomas McCabe  overall winner of local bike league

Tomas McCabe winning a round of the league ahead of Gary Gorman & Liam Dolan

As the summer draws to a close, so to does the Bike Station Summer Cycling League.

The final round was held on Thursday last, on the short course of the Fane Bridge out to Dunleer and back, a distance of less than 30km. However the short distance and lack of hills makes for fast racing, with the scratch group averaging 45kph.

Despite their speed, scratch did not overcome their handicap to the groups in front and it was group 5 who caught all the proceeding groups. In the sprint for the line Karl Dolan went early and managed to hold off everyone to take the win.

When the points were added up for the season it was Ardee's Tomas McCabe who emerged as the overall victor. McCabe has been a regular fixture in the league for a number of seasons now and was a deserving winner.

His consistency and strength on the climbs is where he made his mark, taking wins atop the climbs of Flagstaff, Long Woman's Grave and Jenkinstown. In between the mountainous rounds McCabe also picked up points in the flatter races.

By mid way through the league he topped the leader board, a lead in continued to build upon over the second half of the season.

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.