Macra na Feirme national senior debating final to be hosted in Dundalk this Saturday

Dundalk Democrat Reporter


Dundalk Democrat Reporter


Macra na Feirme National Senior Debating Final

Termonfeckin Macra won the debate finals last year

This Saturday, 10th March 2018, will see the Macra na Feirme National Senior Debating Final come to the Crowne Plaza, Dundalk at 8.00pm.  

Teams from all over the country have been battling it out over the last number of months for the prestigious title - and it is considered by many to be the pinnacle of the Macra year. 

The Senior Debating Competition has a rich history spanning from the 1960s until the present day.

Always known to be an entertaining evening, the competition has been won three times over the years by Louth debaters: in the 1970s by Bellurgan Macra, in 1992 by Termonfeckin Macra and most recently last year, 2017, by Termonfeckin Macra, represented by Mary Moran, Eamon Briscoe, Eamonn McQuillan and Helena Reynolds.

2018 sees Awbeg Macra from Co. Cork take on Bree Macra from Co. Wexford in the Crowne Plaza Dundalk, hosted by Louth Macra.

Presiding for the evening will be Helena Reynolds, whilst the judges for the evening are renowned former Macra members Paud Leech, Termonfeckin Macra, former Macra National President Colm Markey, Togher and Termonfeckin Macra and Gertie McGee, Dromiskin and Stabannon Macra.

Macra na Feirme is rural youth organisation for young people aged between 17 and 35 and always welcomes new members. See for information on a club near you. Alternatively, contact Jennifer Arthur on or 087 185 3485.

All are welcome to attend this event, in what will undoubtedly be a spirited affair as both teams aim for the title. In the words of former Macra National President Matt O’Keeffe, it is “the greatest competition of them all”.