13 Aug 2022

Naomh Moninne take pride in victory

With both of these teams out of contention to qualify for the final, pride was at stake in Darver

With both of these teams out of contention to qualify for the final, pride was at stake in Darver

last Friday evening as Naomh Moninne got the better of the Fechins in this entertaining match

in the Louth Senior Hurling Championship.

At the same time on the adjoining pitch holders Knockbridge were confirmed as opponents

for Pearse Og in this years Final following a hard earned 0-16 to 0-11 victory over Mattock


The south Louth side wasted the first two scoring opportunities of the match before Donal

Rafferty opened the scoring for Moninne with a good point which was added to by one from a

free by Diarmuid Murphy on six minutes.

Oisin Byrne responded with the Fechins first point from play on 11 minutes but it was the

Dundalk outfit who proceeded to create the better chances despite playing against the breeze

in this opening half.

Four unanswered points, all from play, from Darren O Hanrahan, David Yore, Diarmuid

Murphy and young Daire Flanagan had them now in front by 0-6 to 0-2 on 23 minutes. Their

opponents did manage to half the deficit with points from Caomhin Seery and Byrne again.

Two late points from Oisin Drumm, Moninne’s sixth different scorer of the half and Yore had

Moninne leading by 0-8 to 0-3 at the break.

The sides exchanged the opening two points on the resumption before Moninne stretched

their lead with points from David Yore, his third of the match and substitute Dean Carolan.

Cathal Ryan responded with a brace of pointed frees before Moninne were awarded a

penalty for a foul on Daire Flanagan. The resultant free from Diarmuid Murphy was well saved

by the keeper at the expense of a point.

Ryan again displayed his accuracy from frees with another point to leave the Fechins still

trailing by 0-12 to 0-8 with a quarter hour of the game still remaining.

Moninne effectively made the game safe with the next three unanswered points from Murphy

(2) and Flanagan but to their credit the Fechins fought on gamely and were rewarded with

good scores from Cathal Ryan and Caomhin Seery, 0-15 to 0-10.

The black and amber outfit sealed the victory, their first of this years campaign with two

injury time pointed frees from top scorer Diarmuid Murphy.


NAOMH MONINNE: Padraig Mulholland; Sean McLoughlin, Chris Lennon, Andrew McArdle;

Mark McGuinness, Diarmuid Murphy (0-7, 0-6 frees), Ger Collins; Oisin Drumm (0-1), Donal

Rafferty (0-1); David Yore (0-3), Darren O Hanrahan (0-2), Andrew Mackin; Daire Flanagan (0-2),

Eddie McArdle, Stephen Ryan. Subs - Dean Carolan (0-1) for S Ryan, Ronan Geoghegan for

D Flanagan, David Bellew for S McLoughlin, Liam Blundell for A Mackin.

ST FECHINS: Michael Byrne; Cormac McAuley, Barry Duggan, Jason O Sullivan; Barry

Devlin, Donal Ryan, Ciaran Brennan; Paddy McCormack, Caomhin Seery (0-2); Cathal Ryan

(0-6, 0-5 frees), David Stephenson, Sean Brennan; Paul Dillon, Wayne Tracey, Oisin Byrne

(0-2). Sub - Stephen Hobbs for W Tracey.

REFEREE: Jonathan Reid.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.