22 Jan 2022

Fechins blitz Mochtas in Division Two

St. Fechins. 4-13 St. Mochtas 0-8.

St. Fechins. 4-13 St. Mochtas 0-8.

St Fechins hit Mochtas with a second half blitz to take both point in this Division Two clash on Tuesday night.

This was a very keenly contested match in the first half when the sides were level on four occasions.

Mochtas opened with two early points from James Doherty and Declan Byrne with Ronan Holcroft bringing the sides level after fifteen minutes.

The sides exchanged a brace of points and the visitors went a point ahead on twenty minutes.

Fechins edged ahead with a well taken Bevan Duffy goal while Byrne kept his side in touch with two pointed frees.

A long range score from Mark Hynes just gave the home side the lead at the break.

It looked like we were going to have a very tight second half but it was all Fechins on the scoreboard.

Despite a lot of pressure from a Mochtas side that seemed to push forward in search of scores they were exploited with some fine passages of play up field with pin point passes and some great scores.

After two Holcroft points and one from Niall Devlin , Karl mc Donnell slotted the ball to the net. Another two points and it was Ryan Sheridan who ran on to a long hopeful ball across the Mochtas defence to give the goalie no chance.

With a twelve point lead Mochtas still never gave up and were unlucky not to have goaled when a well worked move ended with a Phillip Englishby shot just screaming wide of the post.

Fechins went on to add another goal and three points from Brian Devlin,Bevan Duffy and Paul King.

The goal from Eoin Duffy was from a long probing pass from brother Bevan. Mochtas had a late point from a Declan Byrne free .

Teams ; Fechins, Keith Mc Carthy, Brenden Fanning, David Collier, Paul Dillon, Mark Hynes 0-1. Niall Mc Cabe, Jamie King., Brian Devlin 0-2, Bevan Duffy 1-1, Eoin Duffy 1-0, Ryan Sheridan 1-0. Karl Mc Donnell 1-0, Paul King 0-1, Niall Devlin 0-2, Ronan Holcroft 0-6. Subs, Sean Mc Connell for Fanning, Gerry Campbell for Sheridan. Vincent Corrigan for Hynes, Kevin Mc Cabe for Eoin Duffy, Michael Flanagan for Holcroft.

St. Mochtas, Conor Ryan, Donal Gernon, Garry Connolly, Paul Marron, Philip Englishby, Darren Mc Mahon, Andrew English, Garrret O Reilly, Declan Byrne, 0-6, Sean Mc Grennahan, Gervis Marron 0-1, James Doherty 0-1, Nigel Farrell, Colin Hoey, Eamon O Neill,

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.