Dowdallshill win Division Three basement battle

Dowdallshill 2-9 Annaghminnon Rovers 0-11.

Dowdallshill 2-9 Annaghminnon Rovers 0-11.

The battle of the bottom two teams produced a 12 point turnaround, as D’hill recovered from a terrible start to register only their seconnd win of the campaign, and condemn Annaghminnon to their 8th consecutive defeat.

The visitors dominated the opening exhanges and forged 0-8 ahead, before D’hill finally got their opening score through a Domnhall Mc Ardle free 29 mins in.

That free proved the lift D’hill required, and they closed the gap further before the short whistle, courtesy of a superb goal from Kevin Mc Parland, and an injury time point from Justin Halley.

The second half started as the first half ended with the home side on the front foot, and within four minutes of the re-start, they were level, thanks to a Stephen Hoey point and a spectacular goal from Stephen Mc Ginn, whose dipping effort found the top corner from an acute angle.

With Annaghminnon now on the ropes, the ‘Hill kicked-clear, and five further points from full forward Stephen Hoey, and an effort from wing back Vincent Roe, wrapped-up a four point victory, 2-9 to 0-11.

Best for the ‘Hill were Gordon Mc Alester, Kevin Mc Parland, Stephen Hoey and keeper James Evard.

Team and scorers: James Evard, Dermot Smith, Gordon Mc Alester, Gary Corrigan, Vincent Roe (0-1), Seamus Agnew, Justin Halley (0-1), Kevin Mc Parland (1-0), Brendan Maguire, David Agnew, Domnhall Mc Ardle (0-1), Jason Moore, Stephen Mc Ginn (1-0), Stephen Hoey (0-6), Ciaran Connolly.

Sub used: Mark Mc Donnell for Dermot Smith.

Annaghminnon Scorers: David Martin 0-6, Seamus Martin 0-1, Michael Smyth 0-1, Mark Brennan 0-2, Aidan Kerr 0-1.