THE O’Hanlon Park and Hillview Residents’ Association are appealing for people with information and photographs in relation to the two estates to provide them with it for a new website they are setting up.
The local residents’ association recently received a grant of e2,500 from the Louth Leader Partnership to set up a website and they are hoping to gather information for it from right back to the estates’ origins in the early 1930s.
Residents’ Association chairman, Anthony Taaffe said: “O’Hanlon Park was built around 1933 with the first occupants moving in around 1934 or 1935.
“We reckon their has been a residents’ association ongoing in the area since the 1940s and now that we have a website we hope to catalogue the history of the area on it.
“We’d like to get as much information gathered as possible, as well as old photographs, so that future generations can see what those who went before them have done.”
Anyone with any relevant information for the website can contact Anthony at 087-9820715.
Meanwhile the O’Hanlon Park and Hillview Residents’ Association recently held their annual John Dawe fishing competition on Sunday August 7 at Castlewellan Forest Park.
Over 80 people of all ages took part in the event with the Dawe twins coming out on top having caught the heaviest fish. Runner-up was Caelan Travers with Stephen Begley in third.
Afterwards Mary Dawe presented the winning trophy to her grandchildren.
Subscribe or register today to discover more from DonegalLive.ie
Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.
Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.