Dundalk Golf Club

IN PICTURES | Dundalk Golf Club's presentation night

Dundalk Golf Club

Sports Reporter


Sports Reporter



There was a huge crowd in the Clubhouse on Sunday for the annual presentation of prizes to the winners of the various competitions played over the course of the season. The event also saw the formal presentation of the Barton Shield Leinster Pennant to Captain Gerry Byrne and Lady Captain Pat Cleary by joint team manager John Conlon.

The presentation was preceded by a four man team event which was won by Sean Gallagher (21), Damian Garland (7), Conor McClenaghan (22), Aidan Gaughran (13). They returned a score of 92pts which was enough to win the competition by two points.

Gerry Byrne’s Captain’s Dinner takes place this Friday with dinner served at 8pm. Members attending should put their name on the list on the Gents Locker Room as soon as possible.

Entries for the second Last Man Standing competition of the 2018-19 football season are now being taken. Entry is €10 and can be handed into the Bar. The funds raised go towards the club’s junior golf programme and all support is welcome.

Roll of Honour 2018 - Captain’s Prize: Brian Og Reneghan. President’s Prize: Declan Ward. Lady Captain’s Prize to Men: Brendan Keane. Professional’s Prize: Kevin Redmond. Arkew Cup: Michael O’Sullivan. Cochrane Cup: Shane McGuinness. PGA Tankard: Fergal Sexton. House Committee Cup: Derek Murdock. Jubilee Cup: Kevin Barry. Knights of Malta Cup: Edward Rogers. Irwin Lockington Salver: Joseph Laverty. Paddy Markey Cup: Brian Og Reneghan. Veterans Cup: Richard Barry. Senior Scratch Matchplay: Andrew Keenan. Junior Scratch Matchplay: Neil Mulloolly. Intermediate Scratch Matchplay: Pat Curran. Minor Scratch Matchplay: Jimmy O’Connor. Harry Walsh Cup: Oliver McGinnity. Carolan Cup: Jim Dwyer. Gold Medal: Oliver McGinnity. Men’s Foursomes: Paul Morrison & Michael McDermott. Mixed Foursomes: Clem Walshe & Oonagh Quinn. Club Championship: Caolan Rafferty. Golfer of the Year: Clem Walshe.

Sunday, November 11 - Four Man Team Event: 92pts - Sean Gallagher (21), Damian Garland (7), Conor McClenaghan (22), Aidan Gaughran (13). 90pts - Sean Ward (19) Sean Taaffe (19), Sean Moriarty (21), Paddy Duffy (13).