Bush students showcase their winnning Young Scientist projects

editorial image

editorial image

Bush Post Post Primary Schoool was one of three schools invited to make presentations at the LMETB bimonthly meeting in Dunshaughlin Community College.

Prior to the meeting, the LMETB members were given the opportunity to chat to the students and personally congratulate them on their achievements. It was a wonderful opportunity for students to address the committee and they proudly represented their schools.

Students from Colaiste na hInse, Bush Post Primary School and Ratoath College were on hand with their projects to explain to the committee why they were selected as category winners.

Bush Post Primary had two category winners making presentations to the committee. had two category winners who were both present at the committee meeting. The ‘mooboot’ was the brainchild of Conor Ryan, Stephen Woods and Stephen Lynch. Stephen Lynch was unfortunately unable to make the meeting but the other two students described in detail how the cow footwear works. Their teacher Emma Mc Mahon was with them and spoke about the stiff competition in the RDS for the Young Scientist Exhibition.

Fellow Bush student Kevin Murphy and his project ‘Comparing attitudes to MMA compared to the GAA’ also won a Highly Commended prize.

Mark Caffrey from Ratoath College won in the Intermediate Social and Behavioural Sciences section with his project entitled ‘Are teenager’s more liberal than their parents’.

Saoirse O Donnell and Medb Brereton Hurley from Colaiste na hInse developed a grammar App to help overcome the communication barrier between student and teacher and presented their project entitled ‘Grammar Gadget’. They presented along with their teacher Leona Mc Cormack

Maire Ni Bhroite introduced each of the students to the committee and also welcomed their teachers and principals. The LMETB meeting was chaired by the newly elected chairperson Tracey Mc Elhinney who led the many tributes to the 6 young students while Jenny Darcy, chairperson of the Youth Committee commended the young people and said how wonderful it is to celebrate our students. All the members were then invited to participate in a Question and Answer session. Mr Peter Kierans welcomed and congratulated the students on their remarkable achievements and thanked their parents and teachers for helping them in their goals.


Back to the top of the page